Daily Archives: October 12, 2015

Program Options

Standard Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Program $475.00

(Fulfills all “Joshua’s Law” requirements)

30 hours classroom instruction – Professional educator, licensed by State of Georgia, nationally recognized curriculum.

6 hour behind-the-wheel training – State inspected training vehicle, broken into 3-two hour training sessions after the classroom portion is complete. The sessions are scheduled after the classroom portion is complete. Parent or students should contact us at the school to schedule individual behind-the-wheel training. Students must have a valid learners permit before scheduling a behind the wheel training session.

A 50% deposit is required to reserve a student’s classroom seat, with the balance due on or before the first class day.

 

Advanced Program (above plus more behind-the-wheel time) $650.00

30 hours classroom instruction – Professional educator, licensed by State of Georgia, nationally recognized curriculum.

10 hour behind-the-wheel training – State inspected training vehicle, broken into 5-two hour training sessions after the classroom portion is complete. This is for the student that needs additional experience behind the wheel. Includes extra highway driving, heavy city driving, heavy traffic driving and additional urban driving. Students must have a valid learners permit before scheduling a behind the wheel training session.

A 50% deposit is required to reserve a student’s classroom seat, with the balance due on or before the first class day.

Classroom Training Only $250.00

30 hours classroom instruction – as described above in the Standard Program.  A 50% deposit is required to reserve a student’s classroom seat, with the balance due on or before the first class day.

 

Behind-the-Wheel Only Package $300.00

6 hours of individual hands-on training in our State inspected vehicle, as described above in the Standard Program. Often used by students who have taken on-line classes and now need behind-the-wheel training. Students must have a valid learners permit before scheduling a behind the wheel training session. A 50% deposit is required when scheduling behind-the-wheel only driving sessions.

 

Adult Driver Training $55.00/hr

Customized training for non-teens and those who don’t need the full Standard Program. This is often comprised of 4-10 hours of behind the wheel training in our State inspected training vehicle. Assessments are given during initial session, and recommendations for a program are made at that time. Students must have a valid learners permit before scheduling a behind the wheel training session.  A 50% deposit is required for scheduling behind-the-wheel only driving.

 

*** We accept Master Card, VISA, Discover, debit cards, checks, and cash.

Published: October 12, 2015

Frequently Asked Questions

Why should I take a Driver Education course?
Under Joshua’s Law (Senate Bill 226) the course is required for all 16-year-old drivers to obtain a Class D license. The State of Georgia strongly encourages all new drivers, not just teen drivers, to obtain high-quality driver training, such as is offered at TLDS.

Under Georgia Law, an approved driver education course could entitle you to a 10% insurance premium reduction for 3 years for drivers under age 25.

The parent of a minor taking an approved driver education course is eligible for a $150 tax credit from the State. (please consult with your tax advisor) • Students successfully completing the TLDS driver education program develop the confidence, critical skills, and decision-making ability that are essential to safe operation of a motor vehicle.

Why Choose Towne Lake Driving School?
“We Take Driving Seriously!” is not just our motto, but the approach to all driver education taught at our school. As a long-time professional educator and former college President, I know that there is no greater need among our teens than obtaining the highest quality driver training available. Their lives and safety depend on it. Therefore we offer training that is of the highest quality available, and with the strongest of academic integrity.

The TLDS driver education program has been developed to teach new drivers the fundamental skills and basic knowledge needed to operate a motor vehicle safely. The course utilizes a nationally recognized curriculum that has been licensed and regulated by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).

The Standard Program consists of a combination of 30 hours classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind the wheel training. The completion of this DDS approved driver education program is an essential and valuable step toward obtaining a Class D. The Class D license cannot be obtained in Georgia until age 17 without taking an approved driver education course.

The TLDS driver education program meets all requirements as a DDS licensed and regulated course for driver education.

Can I take On-Line programs that meet the Joshua’s Law requirements?
The DDS has approved some on-line courses to fulfill the 30 hour portion of the Joshua’s Law requirement. However, when compared with the content and outcomes of our on-ground classroom program, it is significantly less effective. We believe that every student deserves the highest quality training possible, and as a professional educator I recommend the in-class version over the online version.

True driving proficiency cannot be learned on-line, or from inexperienced teachers. Students need the instructor-guided classroom training and the question/answer approach that we use at TLDS to become truly proficient drivers.

While we do not recommend the on-line training programs for the classroom portion of the training, we do offer practical hands-on behind-the-wheel training for all students, including those that have taken classes on-line elsewhere.

More information on On-Line programs can be found here.

When should a drivers education course be taken?
The course should be taken as soon as the teen turns 15 years old and receives his/her learners permit.

The teen needs as much time as possible to use the driving principals taught to them before they receive their license to drive a vehicle alone.

We encourage enrollment sooner, rather than later in the teen driving development. The classroom training provides a solid knowledge base that allows new drivers to practice safe and sound driving methods, without having to reverse “bad habits”.

What will I receive when the course is completed?
Each student is issued a Certificate of Completion upon successfully completing the 30 hour classroom portion and the 6 hour behind-the-wheel portion of training.

The State Department of Driver Services is electronically notified that the student has fulfilled the Joshua’s Law requirements.

The Certificate of Completion may be used to receive insurance rate reductions in compliance with Georgia statute O.C.G.A. 33-9-42

The Certificate of Completion, along with the payment receipt may be used to qualify for the Georgia Tax reduction.

What other additional information should I know?
Click here for a complete list of additional questions and answers provided by the State of Georgia DDS.

Published: October 12, 2015

General Information

Why should I take a Driver Education course?

Under Joshua’s Law (Senate Bill 226) the course is required for all 16-year-old drivers to obtain a Class D license. The State of Georgia strongly encourages all new drivers, not just teen drivers, to obtain high-quality driver training, such as is offered at TLDS. Under Georgia Law, an approved driver education course could entitle you to a 10% insurance premium reduction for 3 years for drivers under age 25. The parent of a minor taking an approved driver education course is eligible for a $150 tax credit from the State. (Please consult with your tax advisor.) Students successfully completing the TLDS driver education program develop the confidence, critical skills, and decision-making ability that are essential to safe operation of a motor vehicle.
For complete information about Joshua’s Law, go to http://www.dds.ga.gov/joshua/index.aspx

General Information

Please use the calendar on the right side of this page to check our schedule of classes, and to register for the choice that fits your schedule best.  (On-line registration is for the class portion only; behind the wheel driving is scheduled through the office by calling 678-494-2200).

  • Classes are offered during the school holiday breaks and during the summer and run for four days. (Typically Monday – Thursday, but on some select breaks, they are Saturday – Tuesday).   Please check the calendar for the upcoming class schedules. Seating is limited and we encourage you to reserve your first choice soon so you can be sure to have a seat in your preferred class. Please call the school at 678.494.2200, during the hours of 1:30 pm – 5:00 pm for more information or if you have questions.

 

  • Our behind-the-wheel training encompasses in-town driving, highway driving, residential driving, rural and urban road driving, and a great deal of parallel parking, “quick stop”, and “back-and-park” practice.  Each of these elements is important and will be tested by the State during road testing. Behind-The-Wheel-Training is accomplished on an individually scheduled basis and may be conducted during day, afternoon, evening, or weekend hours. Students should contact us at the school to schedule individual behind-the-wheel training. Students must have a valid learners permit before scheduling a behind the wheel training session.

Published: October 12, 2015